Molló is a border municipality in Vall de Camprodon at the headwaters of the River Ritort and the gateway to Capçaleres del Ter i del Freser Natural Park. Formed by the villages of Molló and Espinavell and the hamlets of Can Solà, Fabert, Favars, Ginestosa, Els Grells, Moixons and El Riberal, it is marked by a history of important events. The time has come to discover them all.
The first written document in which the name of Molló (Mollione) appears dates back to the 10th century, specifically the year 936, although there are signs of a previous, probably Celtic, settlement. In 1659, as a result of the Treaty of the Pyrenees, it became a border municipality. For this reason, it proved essential in the exile of refugees from the Spanish Civil War (1939), which today is commemorated by the Camí de la Retirada path.
Molló was named after a type of stone that was used to mark the limits of territorial divisions or borders. Boundary markers delimiting the territories of Catalonia and France can still be found in the area.
This church, which has been declared a cultural asset of national interest and was constructed from the 10th to the 12th centuries, is an important example of Pyrenean Romanesque architecture. It is noteworthy due to its nave, which is headed to the east by a semi-circular apse, and its Lombard-style bell tower.
Located on the street of the same name, it was built in the 18th century in gratitude to Saint Sebastian, the Roman martyr, for sparing the municipality from the plagues that were devastating Europe.
The hamlet of El Riberal is home to the Romanesque bridge of El Molí de Can Fumet, an idyllic crossing over the River Ritort. You can get there by following one of the Itinerànnia network hiking trails.
In the final stages of the Spanish Civil War, in January and February 1939, 100,000 people crossed the Pyrenees on this “path of retreat” between Vall de Camprodon and Vallespir, and Prats de Molló became a makeshift refugee camp. Programme of guided walks at www.mollo.cat/retirada.
Climb up to the Col d’Ares mountain pass, the border point established in 1659 by the Treaty of the Pyrenees. On 23 June, the Canigó Flame is lit there and carried by torches to light bonfires throughout Catalonia.
This village forms part of the headwaters of the River Ritort. The church of Mare de Déu de les Neus (Our Lady of the Snow), built in the 17th century, lies at its heart. From it four streets run in the directions of the cardinal points.
Espinavell’s annual horse fair takes place on 13 October. More than 300 horses are offered for sale at this traditional event. An artisanal products fair is also held.
The Animal Park of the Pyrenees! Discover the fauna of the Eastern Pyrenees in this open-air park. And also enjoy its adventure park! For further information visit: www.molloparc.com.
Sant Pau de Segúries, the gateway to the Camprodon Valley and its verdant rolling countryside irrigated by the River ...MORE INFO
A land of traditions and the origin of the legend of Comte Arnau. Stroll through the places that forged the...MORE INFO
The thousand-year-old town of Camprodon in the middle of the Camprodon Valley at the confluence of the rivers Ter and...MORE INFO